# COMMITTEE ON MEMORIAL RESOLUTIONS ANNUAL REPORT TO THE RIVERSIDE DIVISION **NOVEMBER 30, 2021**

## To be received and placed on file:

The Committee on Memorial Resolutions is responsible, on behalf of the Division, for preparation and publication of commemorative statements concerning the lives and services to the University of deceased members of the Division, and other members of the University community whom the Committee, at its discretion, may choose to memorialize.

Once memorial resolutions are ratified by the Division, they are submitted to the UC Academic Senate for inclusion in the In Memoriam Academic Senate publication. In Memoriam is produced by its faculty to honor deceased colleagues with the hope that these memorials will serve as fitting tributes to those departed friends, who served the University of California so well.

## Approved In Memorials

In 2020-2021, the Committee on Memorial Resolutions conducted its work via email and Zoom. In addition to reaffirming its Conflict of Interest Statement, the Committee reviewed and approved 16 memorials during between September 1, 2020 and August 31, 2021. These memorials highlighted the research, teaching, and service completed by each faculty member honored.

Additionally, 9 memorials from the 2019-20 academic year were included for ratification by the Division and submitted to the UC Academic Senate for inclusion within the Historical Digital Archives, for a total of 27 memorials submitted in 2020-21:

### Bourns College of Engineering

• Professor Dimitrios Morikis, Bioengineering

### College of Humanities, Arts and Social Sciences

- Professor Bernd Magnus, Emeritus, Philosophy
- Professor Charles Whitney, Emeritus, Creative Writing
- Professor Donald Johns, Émeritus, Music
- Professor Douglas Parrott, Emeritus, Religious Studies
- Professor Eliud Martinez, Emeritus, Creative Writing

- Professor Harold Frank Way, Emeritus, Political Science Professor Louis A. Pedrotti, Emeritus, Comparative Literature Professor Marguerite Waller, Emerita, Comparative Literature
- Distinguished Professor Reinhold Grimm, Emeritus, Comparative Literature

## College of Natural and Agricultural Sciences

- Distinguished Professor Anne Kernan, Emeritus, Physics
- Professor Carlton Bovell, Biology
- Professor Charles Castro, Nematology
- Professor Charles Labanauskas, Emeritus, Horticultural Sciences
- Distinguished Professor Harry Green, Earth Science
- Professor James N. Pitts, Emeritus, Chemistry
- Professor John Brian Mudd, Emeritus, Botany and Plant Sciences
- Professor Kenneth Cooper, Emeritus, Biology
- Professor Robert Luck, Emeritus, Entomology

- Professor Robert Soost, Emeritus, Botany and Plant Sciences

- Professor Seymour VanGundy, Emeritus, Nematology and Plant Pathology
  Professor Thomas Hellman Morton, Emeritus, Chemistry
  Assistant Cooperative Extension Specialist in Weed Science Travis Bean, Botany and Plant Sciences
- Associate Professor Victor Goodman, Emeritus, Botany and Plant Sciences
- Professor Wilbur Mayhew, Emeritus, Biology
- Professor William E. Walton, Entomology

#### Graduate School of Education

• Distinguished Professor Robert Chilton Calfee, Emeritus, Education

### **Submitted In Memorials**

In addition to the above, the Committee reviewed and approved the following 3 memorials for inclusion in the November 2021 Division meeting agenda:

# College of Humanities, Arts and Social Sciences

• Professor Stephen Cullenberg, Emeritus, Economics

## College of Natural and Agricultural Sciences

- Professor Peter Kaus, Emeritus, Physics
- Professor Jolinda A. Traugh, Emeritus, Biochemistry

## Respectfully submitted,

- T. Perring, Chair
- B. Anvari
- A. Barinov
- D. DeMason
- K. Guenther
- P. Nabity
- K. Tsukamoto